You are here
As of August 26, 2016, Oklahoma law requires people 17 or younger who are seeking an original or renewed driver license with an M (motorcycle) endorsement to complete a certified Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) training course before applying.
Basic Rider Course
Ability to ride a bicycle is required. Full protective attire is required and provided at most course locations. Must be of legal age to operate a motorcycle on the street.
The Basic RiderCourse is a complete entry-level, learn-to-ride class that consists of at least 15 hours of formal classroom activities and on-cycle riding exercises conducted over two or three days. About five hours are devoted to learning activities in the classroom, and around 10 hours of hands-on practice are included. Training motorcycles are provided. Successful completion may result in an insurance discount.
Click the map below to see which training center is closest to you. Each training center offers motorcycle training opportunities annually throughout the riding season. Placing your cursor on the map point reveals the training centers in the area. Clicking on a map point reveals the training location and contact information.
Motorcycle Safety Campaign
During the Summer of 2018, the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office and OkieMoto launched the "Road Science" public safety campaign. This campaign focused on educating vehicle drivers to several dangers that motorcycle riders face that the drivers may not think about. With a scientific approach, including physics equations and graphics, the campaign aimed to inform drivers of these dangers, and encourage motorcycle riders to be extra vigilant when riding.
The "Road Science" campaign continued in 2019, adding an impaired driving component and more "share the road" information. For 2020, the creative from the previous years was remarketed to new audiences and saw groth in impressions, view rates, and impressions. To view the full FY20 campaign report, click here.